School Directory

1900 – 1920

Historical Events | Literature | Music | Fine Arts | Graphic Arts

Historical Events
1900 Theodore Dreiser writes Sister Carrie. Count Zeppelin flies airship.
Sigmund Freud writes The Interpretation of Dreams.
Max Planck formulates quantum theory. Arthur Evans excavates Knossos, Crete.
1901 Queen Victoria dies. President McKinley assassinated.
Guglieimo Marconi transmits first trans–Atlantic radio message.
1902 Beatrix Potter writes The Tale of Peter Rabbit.
1903 Jack London writes The Call of the Wild. First Western movie, The Great Train Robbery.
Wright brothers' first successful powered flight.
1904 J. M. Barrie writes Peter Pan.
1905 Cezanne paints Les Grandes Baigneuses. Debussy composes La Mer.
Einstein formulates his Special Theory of Relativity Ty Cobb begins baseball career.
1906 Ruth St. Denis introduces modem dance. San Francisco earthquake.
1907 Picasso paints Les Demoiselles d'Avignon. Daylight Saving Time proposed.
First Ziegfeid Follies.
1908 Robert Baden–Powell creates Boy Scout movement. First Model T Ford produced.
1909 Matisse paints The Dance. Frank Lloyd Wright designs the Robie House.
Diaghilev presents the Ballets Pusses in Paris. Robert Peary reaches North Pole.
1911 Madame Curie receives Nobel Prize. Nestor Film Co. sets up Hollywood's first studio.
Roald Amundsen reaches South Pole.
1912 Titanic sinks; 1,513 drowned. Proust begins Remembrance of Things Past.
Girl Scouts founded.
1913 Armory Show introduces modern art to America. First federal income tax.
Charlie Chaplin makes first movie. Stravinsky's Le Sacre du printemps shocks Paris.
Henry Ford pioneers assembly line.
1914 World War I begins. Robert Goddard experiments with rockets.
Last passenger pigeon dies. Edgar Rice Burroughs writes Tarzan of the Apes.
1915 D. W. Griffith directs film Birth of a Nation.
1917 Mata Hari executed as spy. Russian Revolution. Buffalo Bill dies.
1918 End of World War I. America adopts Daylight Saving Time. Worldwide influenza epidemic.
U.S. population approximately 100 million.
1919 Jack Dempsey heavyweight champion. Bauhaus founded by Walter Gropius.
Peace conference at Versailles. Volstead Act brings in Prohibition.
Austro–Hungarian Empire dissolved.

Guillaume Apollinaire (1880–1918)
Hugo Ball (1886–1927)
Henri Bergson (1859–1941)
Andre Breton (1896–1966)
Collette (1873–1954)
Theodore Dreiser (1871–1945)
James Joyce (1882–1941)
D. H. Lawrence (1885–1930)
Filippo Tommaso Marinetti (1876–1944)
Marcel Proust (1871–1922)
George Bernard Shaw (1856–1950)
Upton Sinclair (1878–1968)
Gertrude Stein (1874–1946)
Tristan Tzara (Samuel Rosenstock) (1896–1945)

Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
Edward Elgar (1857–1934)
Manuel de Falla (1876–1946)
Gustav Hoist (1874–1934)
Charles Ives (1874–1954)
Leos Janacek (1854–1928)
Carl Nielsen (1865–1931)
Giacomo Puccini (1858–1924)
Sergei Rachmaninoff (1873–1943)
Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)
Ottorino Respighi (1879–1936)
Erik Satie (1866–1925)
Arnold Schoenberg (1874–1951)
Jean Sibelius (1865–1957)
Igor Stravinsky (1882–1971)
Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872–1956)

Fine Arts
Jean (Hans) Arp (1887–1966)
Giacomo Balla (1871–1958)
Umberto Boccioni (1882–1916)
Constantin Brancusi (1876–1957)
Georges Braque (1882–1963)
Carlo Carra (1881–1966)
Giorgio de Chirico (1888–1978)
Robert Delaunay (1885–1941)
Andre Derain (1880–1954)
Theo van Doesburg (1883–1931)
Kees van Dongen (1877–1968)
Marcel Duchamp (1887–1968)
Raoul Duty (1877–1953)
Max Ernst (1891–1976)
Lyonel Feininger (1871–1956)
Antonio Gaudi (1852–1926)
Albert Gleizes (1881–1953)
Natalia Goncharova (1881–1962)
Juan Gris (1887–1927)
George Grosz (1893–1959)
Hector Guimard (–T867–1942)
Eric Heckel (1883–1970)
Hannah Hoch (1889–1978)
Alexei von Jawlensky (1864–1941)
Wassily Kandinsky (1866–1944)
Ernst Kirchner (1880–1938)
Paul Klee (1870–1940)
Oskar Kokoschka (1886–1980)
Frantisek Kupta (1871–1957)
Roger de La Fresnaye (1885–1925)
Michel Larinov (1881–1964)
Bart van der Leek (1876–1958)
Fernand Leger (1881–1955)
Jacques Lipchitz (1891–1973)
El Lissitsky (1890–1941)
August Macke (1887–1914)
Casimir Malevich (1878–1935)
Franz Marc (1880–1916)
John Marin (1870–1953)
Henri Matisse (1869–1954)
Jean Metzinger (1883–1956)
Piet Mondrian (1872–1944)
Giorgio Morandi (1890–1964)
Gabrielle Munter (1877–1962)
Emil Nolde (1867–1956)
J. J. P. Oud (1890–1963)
Francis Picabia (1878–1953)
Pablo Picasso (1881–1973)
Man Ray (1890–1976)
Gerrit Rietveld (1888–1965)
Georges Rouault (1871–1958)
Egon Schiele (1890–1918)
Karl Schmidt–Rottluff (1884–1976)
Gino Severini (1883–1966)
Vladimir Tatlin (1885–1953)
Henri de Toulouse–Lautrec (1864–1901)
George Vantongerloo (1886–1965)
Henri van de Velde (1863–1957)
Maurice de Vlaminck (1876–1958)

Graphic Arts
Peter Behrens (1868–1940)
Morris Fuller Benton (1872–1948)
Frederick W. Goudy (1865–1947)
Edward Johnston (1870–1966)
Hermann Muthesius (1861–1928)
Bruce Rogers (1870–1957)
Daniel Berkley Updike (1860–1941)
N. C. Wyeth (1882–1945)

Return to top